Gov. Oborevwori to Inaugurate Delta 8th Assembly June 13, As Ijaw Lawmakers Jostle for Speaker


Briga News Nigeria

Delta State Governor, Rt Hon (Elder) Sheriff Francis Oborevwori, will on Tuesday, June 13, proclaim and inaugurate the 8th Assembly of the Delta State House of Assembly, in what promises to be a colourful ceremony, beginning from 10am.

Another landmark event same day shall be the emergence of a brand new Speaker and Deputy Speaker who will pilot the affairs of the legislative arm of government in the 8th Assembly.

The governor, who was Speaker for six years, in the 6th and 7th Assembly, sure knows his onions in legislative matters, and will be fraternizing with new and returning lawmakers at the hallowed chamber, before returning to Government House.

Governor Oborevwori, may also use the occasion to seek the cooperation of the 8th Assembly, in readiness for the smooth takeoff and implementation of his M.O.R.E agenda.

Delta Deputy Governor, Sir Monday Onyeme, State Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Barrister Kingsley Esiso, Secretary to Delta State Government, SSG, Dr Kingsley Emu, Head of Service, Ferdinand Bayoko, mni, Senior Political Adviser to the Governor of Delta State, Senator Emmanuel Aguariavwodo, Chief of Staff to the Governor, Hon Johnson Erijo, are among senior government officials expected to attend the inauguration of Delta 8th Assembly.

Lawmakers, their spouses and all invited guests are to be seated on or before 9:30am.

Meanwhile, our correspondent gathered that lawmakers from the Ijaw extraction from the Delta South Senatorial District have shown readiness to occupy the office of the Speaker.

Top contenders for the office of Speaker includes Hon Kenneth Oboro Preyor representing Bomadi Constituency. He is a ranking member of the house and one of the oldest. Currently serving his third term.

Next is Hon. Emomotimi Guwor, representing the good people of Warri South West Constituency and a returning member, going for his second term. He was the chairman, House Committee on DESOPADEC in the 7th Assembly.

Also, is Hon Emmanuel Sinebe, representing Patani Constituency, is one of the finest lawmakers in the house. He is a ranking member and also have interest in the position of Speaker in the 8th Assembly.

However, Briga News also learnt that the House Speakership is not the exclusive right of the Ijaw lawmakers as there are other ethnic nationality in the Delta South Senatorial District of the state, such as the Isoko and Itsekiri but it seems the ijaws seems to be having the upper hand.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *